Restoration project for first time owner.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Elweirdo, Jan 30, 2017.

1. Elweirdo

Elweirdo New Egg

Jan 27, 2017
    Gig Harbor
    I'm a total chicken newb. Never owned one. LOVE the idea of fresh eggs and new life forms around the house.
    We moved recently and new house has a small coop with a small run.
    Some pictures of what is left.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I have a LOT of work to do before any birds set foot in here.
    Hopefully, this thread will chronicle those efforts and allow me the benefit of your, the gentle readers, advice.

Right off the bat there are a lot of obvious things to handle.
    Clean up.
    Remove and replace chicken wire and larger fencing with hardware cloth.
    Add entrance to the run. I'm thinking of making it taller as well.
    Replace the roof, roosts, nest box, ramp and pop door.
    Add ventilation.
    It looks like it used to be electrified. I'll determine if I need that later.
    There are a couple of spot where it appears something has dug under the fence into the run. We can't have that.
    More clean up.

Questions I have:
    The most obvious question is Should I start from scratch?
    Are the old litter, looks like sawdust, and droppings compostable? .
    I'm only planning on three birds. How many would you estimate this coop could hold?

So off I go. Thanks for reading,
    Jeff

Last edited: Feb 2, 2017
  2. Dmontgomery

Dmontgomery Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Apr 1, 2014
    Longville, La
    The framing looks sound. If the boards aren't rotted you can keep the basic structure in tact. Needs lots more ventilation/windows. Replace the roof as you said. Wood shavings will take forever to compost. Better to move them somewhere and burn them. 3-4 hens should fit in there if you expand the run just a little more.

3. PapaBear4

PapaBear4 Out Of The Brooder