1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Review my hatching plan?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chelseajgoss, Oct 8, 2016.

1. chelseajgoss

chelseajgoss Out Of The Brooder

Sep 18, 2016
    Tucson, AZ
    Hey guys! So this is my first time incubating my own chicks. Usually we let the hens do it, but i think we had a snake problem this time and someone was stealing all the eggs. Right now i have 14 eggs in my coolerbator. Temp has been between 100 and 102 (still air) with occasional very breif spikes to 104. I check on them every hour at night just in case. My humidity has been around 30 to 35% for most the hatch. But here's my problem. I was so excited that i put in diffrent sets of eggs at diffrent times and didnt think aboitnthe change in humidity. So i had to build a second incubator. I just used a cardboard box since this will only be for this hatch, and then from now on i know better. I am still working on the temps for this one. I currently have a 25watt bulb in there. And its keeping it at 97 and 50 humidity... so i think i will cut my sponge up a little (its one of those huge ones for washing cars) so it has more surface area. And put in another 7.5 watt light bulb, and then i will poke some holes in to stabilize temp, and allow fresh air for the chicks because i know they need extra.
    Originally i put 2 eggs due on the 14th. 1 was infertile. So i have 1 due on the 14th. And then i have one due on the 18th. 5 due on the 21st. And 7 due on the 24th (3 of which im pretty sure are infertile but i will leave for now)