Rhode Island Red - Confused on what is happening/need to do

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Help_Please, Feb 24, 2011.

1. Help_Please

Help_Please Out Of The Brooder

Feb 24, 2011
    Hi guys! This is my first time on the forum.

I have a Rhode Island Red hen that is a year and two weeks old and something wierd is happening to her.

I don't know if this is a disease, if she's molting, or it's just plain out unexplainable but I'll try my best to describe it;
    -Around her stomach and egg sack, she's starting to lose her feather's and ?skin? maybe
    -She still acts like normal, no symptoms
    -You can kind of see her inards.

I'm sorry that the descriptions weren't well typed out, so here are some pictures to show what I'm talking about:

htt p: //i52.tinyp ic.com/2ut lyyb.jpg

htt p: //i56.tinyp ic.co m/2gx fq6w.jpg

ht tp: //i54.tiny pic.co m/2djufy p.jpg

Sorry for the spread apart links, I had to make them like that, apparently new members have a URL restriction of 0.
    Thank you so much for your help though!

Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  2. aubreynoramarie

aubreynoramarie designated lawn flamingo

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    yikes! that sure does look painful! Im very sorry i cant help- i hope someone here can! [​IMG]

3. Help_Please

Feb 24, 2011
    I forgot to mention, I think it might be a rupture but I'm not exactly sure. When I googled, I didn't come up with much. If I get her to stop laying, do you think it will reduce these symptoms? Does anyone know how to safely make a hen stop laying? Thanks so much!

4. aubreynoramarie

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    i dont think you can get her to stop laying [​IMG] Perhaps keeping her in a non-lit area for a while?

5. mboreham1

mboreham1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2009
    Carmichael, CA