Rhode Island Reds have been drivng neighbor crazy !!!

MrsMax

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jun 16, 2013
Hello, Newbie here:

I had purchased my new flock of 6 at Tractor Supply Co. , about last year. Mind you , I'm completely new to chickens. All I wanted was a flock strictly for egg laying and to be family pets ! So once the chicks grew we were able to identify the chickens specifically by breed ;2 New Hampshire ,2 Rhode island reds ,1 Americauna and 1 Bantam Cochin ! so not to drag the story longer ; early in the am. (5-6) I notice that it 's always the Rhode Islands making all the noise meanwhile the rest are mum during really early hours of the morning. Now I live in a country town and could hear roosters crowing (which I don't mind) but my neighbor was cussing out over my fence because my chickens were cackling that early ! Im honestly considering giving the noisy rhode islands to my mother because she has neighbors that own livestock as well,so they are more acclimated to the noise. At the same time I wish I could keep them! Is this a breed of chicken that tends to be nosier??Are there other breeds that are not as noisy ??Don't get me wrong ,i love to hear them every morning , but neighbor really isn't a fan ...Thank you all in advanced!

Hello, Newbie here: