RIR? and hen or roo...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by meaghan76, Aug 10, 2010.

1. meaghan76

meaghan76 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 26, 2010
    I was told the 3 babies are RIR, I'm not sure. They are 12 weeks old. The bigger one I believe is a RIR and I'm guessing about a month older then my babies, I got her(?) from my sister. Any ideas on sex would be great also, I'm leaning toward pullet for all, but I know that's pretty hopeful! Thanks for all your help, I'm totally new to this chicken stuff!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and for good measure: this is Baldy, also from my sister, I believe she's a golden comet. Not sure about age, but she gives us an egg a day for the most part. She was plucked by my sister's dog, hence the shabbiness! She is the sweetest, follows us around like a dog.
    [​IMG]

Thanks again...

Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  2. High Roost Ranch

High Roost Ranch The Chicken Whisperer

I'm going to say they are New Hampshire. They are a bit too light red to be RIR, well, good quality RIR.

3. atimme

atimme Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2010
    Chicago
    I second the New Hampshire. Close to a RIR but not the deep mahogany color of a RIR. The black hackles and saddle feathers are a giveaway too. [​IMG]

4. meaghan76

meaghan76 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 26, 2010
    Thanks, that's what I was thinking. After looking at pics online, they look too light to be RIR. Miss Prissy (the bigger red) is darker than my babies. Any idea on sex?[​IMG]

5. ve

ve Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2009
    Palmetto GA
    Big one is a boy.I think he is EE - RIR mix because of Pea comb- RIR and New Hampshire are single combed.Others are girls-Production Red

6. Lbrad7

Lbrad7 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2010
    Ringgold, GA