RIR cockerel+BSL=??

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by peepmommy, Feb 15, 2012.

1. peepmommy

peepmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2012
    Hi there. I am a newbie at this. In the summer I ended up getting 5 Barred Rocks, 5 RIR, and 5 Black sex links. Now, I know that my RIR rooster mating with RIR hens=RIR chicks, and my rooster mating with my barred rocks will produce black sex links. But if my RIR rooster mates with one of my black sex links I should get either a barred rock or RIR? Is this correct? I am just curious more than anything. They all are really great hens and so far the rooster is a nice boy... if not, into the pot he goes! :) Please let me know as the suspense is killing me!! Thanks sooo much!!

2. smarsh

smarsh Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2009
    lexington, KY
    you will likely get a very similar look to the black sex link, i believe even the roosters will likely be similarly marked. You no longer have the barred gene or the silver gene, both were sex linked to the male black sex links, so you will get a rather solid colored bird with more or less red in some.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

No. The offspring would truly be mixes. Not a BR nor a RIR. Barnyard mix/mutt. But what a good laying mutt, eh? I wouldn't mind, but they'd not be any identifiable breed.

Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  4. peepmommy

peepmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2012
    Great! Thanks so much for the help! I can't wait to see what they make and as long as they are good layers... It's the fun of it!!

5. tadkerson

tadkerson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2008
    Missouri
    The female black chicks will be black or black with red expressed on the head, hackles and breast ( like a black sex link), the male chicks that are black will be black with some red in the pyle zone. The chicks with whitish down will look like rhode island red. The rhode island red may show some black smut in the feathers.

Tim