Rir day 12 candling

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Ash123, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Ash123

Ash123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2012
    Tyler, TX
    It's day 15 and since day 12 of incubation a few of my rir eggs look completely dark and filled. Normally I wouldn't think much about it but in the rest of the eggs I can see movement and veining. Are these quitters? I don't want to throw out an egg and find out the chick was perfectly healthy inside. This is my first time to incubate chicks so I don't have a clue.

2. cochins1088

cochins1088 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 17, 2012
    Southern Minnesota
    Smell the eggs, completely dark eggs like that have a posiblility of being rotten. If an awful odor comes from them, then take them out quickly. If they don't smell, then I would place them to the side of the incubator just a bit away from the others, they very well could be good developing embryos. Just watch them, but I definately don't give up hope, they can sometiems trick you, especially depending on how dark the egg shells are.

3. Ash123

Sep 17, 2012
    Tyler, TX
    Thank you for your response. I do have it set aside. It doesn't smell so I guess I will wait until day 18 and make a decision.

4. cochins1088

Jul 17, 2012
    Southern Minnesota
    Even on day 18, if it's completely dark and doesn't smell, then leave it in. Good Luck! [​IMG]

5. Ash123

Sep 17, 2012
    Tyler, TX
    Gotcha thanks for your help[​IMG]

6. Ash123

Sep 17, 2012
    Tyler, TX
    I figured it out! The chick is alive but is growing on the opposite side of the egg than the others. I have 3 like this. Will they still hatch successfully?

7. cochins1088

Jul 17, 2012
    Southern Minnesota