RIR or BO

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by TwinMommy2009, Dec 29, 2009.

1. TwinMommy2009

TwinMommy2009 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 29, 2009
    The Deep South
    Hello, this is my first time posting! Im looking to purchase quality Rhode Island Reds or Buff Orpingtons in the spring... Im looking for very large, show quality chickens. Can someone take the time to tell me which breed would be best for me? They'll be in a good home, hobby farm in the country. Im wanting them for pets, eggs, and maybe selling a chick or two in the far future. Can anyone recommend a breeder? Im leary of large online hatcheries...Im wanting something of better quality.

Thanks so much for your time!!

2. RAREROO

RAREROO Overrun With Chickens

Jul 22, 2009
    Alapaha, Ga
    Pine Grove on here has raised SQ RIRs for 20 years, if you contact me, I'll get you his contact info.

3. TwinMommy2009

Dec 29, 2009
    The Deep South
    thank you so much... funny, i just came across a post of yours with pictures of his RIR and was about to contact you!! lol

4. twister

twister Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2009
    Mississippi
    i have both RIR and BO. The RIRs are way sweeter ( hens, that is...i have heard horrors about RIR roos) ... my BO's are very aloof and skeptical. If ya want a friendly ,want to be petted type bird, go, RIR all the way.... I think the BO's are prettier tho...just my opinion.

5. sticksoup

sticksoup Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2009
    Bradenton