RIR rooster attacked by stray dogs

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by cowgirlup07, Nov 13, 2014.

1. cowgirlup07

cowgirlup07 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 22, 2014
    Comanche, Oklahoma
    My sons rooster "Bird Bird" who is free range along with my other birds, was attacked today. I know the dogs and they are thankfully UTD on vaccines, they always cause problems with local farmers but I'm unsure on how to clean wounds on chickens since I am fairly new to chickens in general. They've already killed 3 of my birds but I think met their match with this guy. He's got several bald spots that are seeping blood, nothing that's emergency level (I'm here for advice until I can call my vet in the morning) he's having trouble with his right wing also. I know these pictures aren't too good, I'll try to get better pics in the daylight. I have him in a large dog crate with a soft warm bed and a blanket over the cage in my garage since it's in the 20's wind chill I think is in the upper teens. Anyways, how do I clean his wounds? He's fairly gentile, I can handle and pick him up without issues. Is there an OTC antibiotic safe for him? He's very special to us and if the vet says bring him in he will be going. Until he heals he will just have to get exercise on a leash so we don't chance further injury or death. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Poor guy, you could clean off his wounds with saline solution or betadine. Then apply Neosporin (NO Caine ) . Do check him over well ,looking for any puncture wounds and signs of infection. Chickens generally have great recuperative powers and survive some gruesome wounds. You want to be sure your rooster is warm enough, and has a nice quiet, darkened area to recuperate. Keep watch in case he goes into shock.