RIR roosters, may need to cull one(Pics)

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by harleyjo, Aug 16, 2011.

1. harleyjo

harleyjo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2010
    SW Iowa
    I may need to cull one of my RIR roosters. I think I know the answer to this but since I have never done this before I want some guidance on what to look for in a good RIR rooster. I have 2 pictures of one and 4 pics of the other one. I just want some pointers on what to look for. I may breed some of these to sell so I want to make sure.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[/img]

These are standard RIR, and not Heritage.

2. harleyjo

May 6, 2010
    SW Iowa
    Here is the 4th image. Both chickens are the same age, around 14 weeks old.

[​IMG][/img]

3. PHILMAN

PHILMAN Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2011
    South Plainfield , NJ
    I would keep the second rooster he looks great !

4. Zaxby's2

Zaxby's2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2011
    a place
    I would probably keep the second one. He's more fuller looking and his colors are closer to heritage RIR, which is more desirable. [​IMG]

5. harleyjo

May 6, 2010
    SW Iowa
    This just shows you that you never know what you are going to get from a hatchery bird. I don't show my birds but I may breed some and want to do a good job as far as breeding on good traits.

6. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    The lesser of two evils would be bird number 2.

Chris

7. harleyjo

May 6, 2010
    SW Iowa
    Chris, what traits am I looking for in a RIR that make one better than another? These will just be for egg layers but I can still try to get the best stock that I can out there.

Quote:

8. joe17

joe17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 25, 2009
    Louisiana
    Quote:
    Go look at all of Chris's pictures. That is whats desired. If you really want the best stock, buy chicks from a good breeder. If you just want eggs, yours are fine. [​IMG]

9. chicktwins