RIR Roosters or hens?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by bannerdb, Sep 4, 2011.

1. bannerdb

bannerdb Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2011
    Donegal, Ireland
    Hi guys,

Im new to keeping poultry. Only had my first batch of 3 for about 2 and a half months. I have 3 RIR's.

1. The guy I bought them from said they were born in early to mid March and that they should be laying my late July or mid August at the latest. It is now September and no eggs!

In the last 3 weeks or so, their combs and wattles have become a very rich red and increased dramatically in size. They have also put on a lot of weight.

In recent weeks, their tail feathers have gotten very long and have become a noticeably green colour and have taken on a disctinct "arch".

Also, they are becoming increasingly aggressive wih each other, charging at eachother with their neck feathers extended like a lions mane!

Last but not least, my partner is convinced that she heard a crowing of some description coming from the henhouse last week. I thought it was egg song, but no squatting, no eggs and no egg song since.

It is because of the above factors that I have come to the conclusion that I may have been sold 3 roosters instead.

Can anyone help me? I think I have been conned![​IMG]

Here are pictures of all 3.

Hen/Rooster 1.

[​IMG]

Hen/Rooster 2.

[​IMG]

Hen/Rooster 3.
    [​IMG]

2. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN
    All roosters. I'm so sorry.[​IMG]

3. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Wow, that's bad luck. All boys, surprised they aren't crowing yet. You should check craigslist for any local point of lay hens in your area. Should be about $15 a bird. As for the boys, they are tasty!

4. bannerdb

bannerdb Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2011
    Donegal, Ireland