RIR VS Black Australorp

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by nfd3099, Nov 21, 2014.

1. nfd3099

nfd3099 New Egg

Nov 21, 2014
    Hello!

This is my very first time posting, so please go easy in me :). I currently have a flock of barred rocks that I absolutely love. Thinking about starting about 50 more layers but I can't decide which variety I want. RIR or the australorp. I like the reds for their ability to forage and free range well which is important because my operation is free range, organic and GMO free. And it is my understanding that the BA has the same characteristics. I have no experience with either, I will want roosters and I have a five year old child. I want excellent egg production and good free range and foraging while also being docile and not too agressive. The too I have now pays my little one no attention. So far he has been great. Any suggestions between the two is appreciated :)

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana