RIR with sore/tumor on eye

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ColeSchmidt, Oct 6, 2013.

1. ColeSchmidt

ColeSchmidt Out Of The Brooder

Oct 6, 2013
    San Diego, CA
    Hey guys! I'm new to the forms here, and this is the first time my family has had chickens in about 10 years so we are all really excited. However, we have a few four month old RIR's that we got from FFA and one of them has developed this massive scabby tumor on her eye. We have looked into all sorts of chicken diseases but it doesn't appear to look like any of them because it is just this one tumor on her eye and isn't anywhere else. She also appears to have a ruptured air sack but I heard those heal on their own normally. So I'm going to post a picture of the eye and am hoping someone could tell me what is going on with our poor chicken! She acts just fine and no different than our non affected hens.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here are a few more pictures that I took a few minutes ago:

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 6, 2013
  2. MelissaTXRn

MelissaTXRn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 3, 2013
    Wow! I have no idea unless it's pox that set up in the eye, or it developed as a result of pecking. Have you tried to treat it with anything? I bet someone with more knowledge will reply soon. Good luck.

3. ColeSchmidt

Oct 6, 2013
    San Diego, CA
    Our original thought was pox and we have a friend who thinks it is pox, but doesn't pox cover their whole face in smaller sores? This is one giant one! We haven't done anything with it because we have no idea how to handle it.

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
  5. ColeSchmidt

Oct 6, 2013
    San Diego, CA