Risks to Humans

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ncchick, Dec 3, 2008.

1. ncchick

ncchick New Egg

Dec 3, 2008
    Hi all,

Newbie here. I am researching chickens and considering getting started with some, since we live 45 miles out of town and it would be convenient and perhaps fun, but being a Public Health minded individual, having worked in the field for years, I have to ask the questions.........and appreciate any feedback and links for more info.

1. What diseases can humans get from chickens?
    2. What are the risks of Avian Flu being transmitted via our home bred chickens? Isn't the risk greater for us than the general population?
    3. Are you experiencing more flies than you otherwise would?

BTW I love all the cute pics that have been posted of the chicks , brooders and chickens. I'm getting closer to thinking I may get some chickens for us. :)

I also appreciate all the helpful information I've seen here. Thanks!

2. doodledoo

doodledoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 29, 2008
    Cartersville, GA
    Hi and welcome! I don't know the answer about the diseases but I can tell you that chickens love flies and if there is one around they will get it if they can.

3. ncchick

ncchick New Egg

Dec 3, 2008
    Thanks....we have neighbors across the field that have large chicken farms......where they get small chickens that they grow to a larger size inside huge long buildings, then have them trucked out for processing......When they clean out the coops even though we are a couple acres away ( maybe 6-8) we get the downwind of a rather strong bad odor......and on damp days we have a zillion flies . They've promised to give us some of the droppings for sewing into our gardens next spring though.

So wondered if you get a lot of strong odors and flies from small scale chicken raising. That would be great if the chickens attracted all the flies then ate them though. ;-)

4. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008