ritual sacrifice

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by tiki244, Oct 21, 2008.

1. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    I have heard it mentioned twice in the last two days and I am aware of it. But, does anyone know exactly what happens? I am wondering if it is a long drawn out painful experience for the chicken? Just wondering because I do sell chickens at swaps and need to know, for my peace of mind, what is going on. Then I will be better able to 'screen' my buyers.

BTW: I heard Silkies are especially desired for this because of the black skin?!!!

ETA: Changed : ETA: Just to clarify. I try to find them all pet homes. But that is not always possible.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2008
  2. LittleYellowOne

LittleYellowOne Chillin' With My Peeps

I believe (I'm no expert), that the people buying chickens for sacrifices would be those practicing Santeria, and as far as I know, their sacrifices are nothing worse than the equivalent of kosher slaughter.

I believe Santeria practices (their method of sacrifice) have been ruled humane in the past, but I can't be certain.

ETA:

"SanterĂ­a was traditionally transmitted orally, although in the last decade a number of books have been published on the tradition. Practices include dance, sung invocations to the orishas, sprinkling mercury around a home,[2] and animal offering, which is the most controversial ritual. The priests charged with doing the sacrifice are trained in humane ways to perform ritual slaughter,[citation needed] and the animal may be cooked and eaten afterward by the community. [Chicken]]s, a staple food of many African-descended and Creole cultures, are the most common sacrifice; the chicken's blood is offered to the orisha, while the meat may be consumed by all."

Found on Wikipedia.

3. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    Thanks LittleYellowOne. That is good information to know. [​IMG]

4. Sugar Sand Farm