1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Rolled oats okay for chicks?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by mlheran, Mar 22, 2007.

1. mlheran

mlheran Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm a newbie here and have a question about my new flock of two-week-old chicks (2 RIR, 2 NHR, 2 Cuckoo Maran).

My grandma gave me a big bag of "100% rolled oats" today and I was wondering IF I can give them to the chicks and WHEN it would be okay to do so (assuming it is). I haven't started them on any grit yet as they are just eating starter feed (and the occasional bug!). Would I have to do anything to the oats, like chop them a bit more?

From what I've been reading, chickens can eat oats, but I'm not sure about chicks. I'm hoping so, because that's less oatmeal for me! [​IMG]

And just to liven things up, here's a pic of them out in their "playpen" today...

[​IMG]

2. eggchel

eggchel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Dec 26, 2006
    Both Coasts
    You could throw some grit down in that pen with them along with some chopped oats for a treat.
    Or, just make them some oatmeal !!! My friend J.J. always made oatmeal for her chicks. You can also mix that "just out of date" yogurt in to the oatmeal, too. Makes a nice hot breakfast or late afternoon treat on a cold day. Just dont over feed them with the oats, they need all the stuff in the chick starter to grow properly.

chel

And, those are some cute chicks!

3. Barnyard Dawg

Barnyard Dawg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2007
    Northern California