Roo/Hen Ratio?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Bleenie, Jan 27, 2011.

1. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

I recently adopted a pretty BLRW roo for my pullets, I wanted a boy that looked different than they do. I am pretty sure now though that one of my Black "Pullets" is a Roo and I am not sure if I will be able to part with the little guy, unless of course problems arise with him later on.

I have 12 pullets right now and I am wondering if 2 Roos would be alright with them? The main thing I was worried about was them getting overbred. Also, would 1 Roo be able to keep a dozen girls fertile?

I feel like a total Newb asking all these questions but since these are going to be the ONLY chickens I have now i wanna do it right this time! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  2. alaskachick

alaskachick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Wasilla, Alaska
    I have 13 hens and one rooster. They have a very happy family life going on in their coop. There is no stress of two roos trying to be king of the mountain. From what I have seen, my roo mates all the hens at least once in 2 days. I heard people say one roo per every 5 hens is good, but does that mean if you have 25 hens you should have 5 roos in one coop... no way, your asking for trouble IMO at least.

3. cheshireboi

cheshireboi New Egg

Jan 27, 2011
    Does that mean i should split up five hens with one roo. then get more hens for my other 4 roos lol cause i just lost 2 due to over rooing lol i believe that is what killed them:/

4. Livinwright Farm

Livinwright Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2011
    Carroll County
    Quote:Okay, I will first say that we had 2 roos for our 12 girls and everyone got along fine. Eggs are guaranteed to be fertile!