Roo or Hen? Help!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ChknObssd, Aug 21, 2013.

1. ChknObssd

ChknObssd Out Of The Brooder

Aug 7, 2013
    Harrah, OK
    First, let me say I am completely new to the wonderful world of Chickens! I recently was blessed to acquire 4 chicks at the end of July. I have one RIR, one Buff, and one Barred. I just lost an Ameracauna last night to a stupid snake. :( It was horrifying to walk up to chat with my girls and see her being strangled. I thought that they were secure but found a spot that it got in at.

Ive been very curious as to the gender of at least 2 of my chickens. My Barred and my RIR. These two have been "fighting" or barging each other alot. But I noticed that my buff is starting to participate in this as well, though not as much. Now, I figure this is just the pecking order status being established, however my Barred has been alot slower in feather development and has a rather red comb developing. My RIR has a pink comb but was the first to get feathers. Any thoughts on what you think they are? Really worried that I might have two roos and one hen!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Thank you for your thoughts!!

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Your Barred Rock is definitely a rooster. Barre Rock roosters are always light in color, like yours (females would be a darker shade), and your bird's comb is large for its age. As for your Rhode Island Red, I'm going with rooster for him too. Though not as large as the Barred Rocks, his comb is quite large. How old are they?

3. ChknObssd

Aug 7, 2013
    Harrah, OK
    They are 3-4 weeks old. I was pretty sure the BR was a roo, but I was really hoping that my RIR wasnt at least. :(

4. Pele

Pele Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2011
    Boise
    BR is 10000% rooster. RIR is most likely a roo too.

5. ChknObssd

Aug 7, 2013
    Harrah, OK