Roo or not?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by marinagarita, Nov 17, 2016.

1. marinagarita

marinagarita Out Of The Brooder

Jan 27, 2016
    Hello everyone! My mom bought a new chicken while I was out of town... the woman she bought it from said it was a hen. I'm back, a week later, and am pretty sure it's a roo, but I'm a chicken noob and wanted someone with more experience to let me know!!
    It started crowing the day I got home, but I have also seen videos of a hen crowing... haha sorry I feel like such a newbie! Haven't heard him crow after that one time, and currently is living with 1 other chicken, a hen (that I know is a hen!).

I think it's a serama, but I'm also unsure of that. Approx 3-ish months old?

Jackie/Jack is really pretty, but I'm not wanting any roos so if she is a he, then I'll be seeing if I can exchange for a hen.

EDIT:
    Aw man... the lady is not willing to exchange. Little bit miffed, but oh well. Going to see if someone will exchange...

Also if anyone is in the Ocala FL area and is interested in a trade, please message me! Doesn't have to be a Sebright (but I'd love one!) just would like a young-ish pullet! He's been fed organic pellets and lots of fresh veggies!
    Can't post in the trade section yet so will do that when I'm able..

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 17, 2016
  2. Ravynscroft

Ravynscroft For the Love of Duck Premium Member

Nov 30, 2014
    Middle Tennessee
    Silver Sebright... and yep, he's a boy...

3. marinagarita

Jan 27, 2016
    Thank you!

4. marinagarita

Jan 27, 2016
    Thank you! Hopefully I can exchange :)

5. marinagarita

Jan 27, 2016
    Aw man... the lady is not willing to exchange. Little bit miffed, but oh well. Going to see if someone will exchange...

Also if anyone is in the Ocala area and is interested in a trade, please message me! Doesn't have to be a Sebright (but I'd love one!) just would like a young-ish pullet! He's been fed organic pellets and lots of fresh veggies!