Roo Paranoia

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nikki1, Oct 25, 2011.

1. nikki1

nikki1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Eatonville, WA
    Okay, guys! You're freaking me out! I'm new to this chicken thing, but I am SO excited to get started. We're planning our coop this winter, building it early spring, and getting chicks as soon as we have their home built. I've pretty well chosen the breeds I want to get after doing a bunch of research, but now everyone is sharing their "I got a bunch of roos" stories. It would break my heart to raise a baby and have to rehome it, and eating a baby with a history and a name is simply out of the question. Should I ditch my breed plans and go with red and/or black stars that can be sexed by color? Is it worth the risk to get the breeds I want? We have little kids, so temperament is a big deal to me. Are stars friendly and calm?

We live outside of town, so the authorities wouldn't care if we had a roo, the neighbors have barking dogs, so it serves them right, but my husband might get cranky to be awake early on a Saturday. Would it be best to get my husband really attached to the chicks so he would be willing deal with the noise? (Yeah, I can be a little sneaky. I could probably make him fall in love with the babies. For that matter, I totally understand chicken math, but I haven't explained it to him yet. Poor guy!)

What do you think?

A. Ditch the plans. Buy stars

B. Stick with the plan, but have new roo homes in mind.

C. Learn to live with roos, and get the hubby on board.

Thanks for your input!!!

--Nikki:/

2. ChickenJill

ChickenJill Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2010
    What are stars? I would get all hens and ease your husband into it. It has worked for me. And now he is excited about building a coop, collecting eggs and he likes thinking of how to set up automatic doors, but he still does not really like the chickens themselves.....

3. Chick-n-itis

Chick-n-itis Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2011