Roo pecking order, beware long post

southernsibe

Songster
12 Years
Jun 15, 2007
kensington, maryland
I’m new to chickens, and I’m trying to make sense of rooster behavior. I have received seven chickens from a rescue mission. The owner’s dog decided they were dinner. The group consists of, one red leghorn roo, (Kellogg) plus 2 red leghorn hens, 1 white leghorn roo (Beepbeep) plus his 2 white hens, and one black silkie that belongs to Kellogg. They are all about one year to eighteen months old. Kellogg is by far the alpha roo between the two. When I got them, all of them were very skittish around people. They had not been handled, or hand fed, or pet. I’ve now got them to all eat from my hand, and not act like demented featherheads when I approach. Both roo’s are pretty large, at least to me. And have spurs that are about an inch long. Neither one has ever acted even the tiniest bit aggressive with me, ever. Despite being pretty wild when we got them. One thing that took me a bit to understand was Kellogg and eating from my hand, which has taken a long time. He still doesn’t do it often. But when I have my hand down, if I stare at him, he won’t approach, and keeps his gaze averted. When I don’t stare at him, or watch him exclusively, he will slowly approach and take a quick nibble, then back away. This is amazing to me since I’ve seen him challenge and win all the time. Beep is his second in command, and I’ve seen Kellogg basically beat him down to the ground with his wings and keep him there. Scared me to death the first time I saw it. Beep wouldn’t even move an eyelid. Then once Kellogg was satisfied, he hopped off, and walked away. Beep stayed down for a few more minutes, and then got up and all was good again. All of this brings me to my chickens that I raised from day one, or maybe three or four since I got them at the feed store. I have one RIR that I bought as a pullet. Well the pullet crows, loudly. This chicken as always been somewhat skittish, and standof