Roo Question

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Eyeheartquail, Sep 11, 2011.

1. Eyeheartquail

Eyeheartquail Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2011
    This is my first time raising quail and I have 8 birds total. 2 browns (female), 2 English whites (not sexed yet), 3 tuxedos (1 male others not sexed yet), and 1 Rosetta (not sexed yet.) They are almost 7 weeks old and one of my tuxedo's has finally matured into a roo and my hens aren't laying yet. The roo is chasing and pecking all of the other quail throughout their 7'x2 1/2' raised pen. He seems very pushy and I am worried he may injure one of the other quail. I don't know what would happen If I ended up with 2 or more roos! I am sure I would have to cull them. My question is, are roos generally this pushy? I have read so many posts from others about roos that have scalped or wounded others. I hope to prevent this. Should I separate him from the rest until my hens start laying? I would love the option to have fertile eggs in the future. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated [​IMG]

Thanks!

2. syble

syble Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2011
    michigan
    i have hens that can be just as bad, its frustrating really, try giving them some hides

3. Eyeheartquail

Sep 7, 2011
    What kind of hides do you recommend? Plants?

4. Tikkajazz94

Tikkajazz94 Chillin' With My Peeps

a little box... I have a slanted wood piece I found. Than I put the run on long grass so they can hide in the grass and stuff.

5. syble

syble Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2011
    michigan
    boxes, tubes, abs pipe sections work nicely, they are open on both ends (providing escape routes if need be), and come in multiple sizes, and being abs, you can hose em down whenever need be [​IMG] you dont want it much taller then the bird, the idea is to give em a place to keep others off their back

6. Eyeheartquail

Sep 7, 2011