room in my brooder??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Rooster8402, Mar 26, 2009.

1. Rooster8402

Rooster8402 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 11, 2009
    I got 13 RIR and 13 Buff O's I built a 2 lvl brooder I believer there is 10 to 15 square foot of space in the the entire brooder is this enough room for the 26 chicks to finish feathering. they will be 3 weeks old on monday the 30th and from what I've read they have to remain in the booder til they are fully feathered. I shut the heat lamp off at night because they hardly use it anywayits about 60-70 degrees in our house we check them every morning to make sure they don't have a chill and none of them are shivering even after the heat lamp has been off for 6-7 hours. it apear's that they will out grow the brooder in the next week or so but I am new to raising chickens so I don't know if an area of 10-15 sq ft in enough room ror them to live comfotably for another 2-3 weeks.
    if its not my coop is done though it is cold at night and 50+ degree's during the day here
    If I built a larger brood box in the coop and left the heat lamp on day and night with them having acess to the very large coop it is ventilated but not insulated yet I was going to insulate it before next winter. I'm between a roch and a hard place because the only place I have to build a larger brood box is in the coop. everything in me says not to put them in the coop until 4-5 weeks of age but I think they will be in a cramped space in a week or so. any input would be a great help and thanks in advanced

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

[​IMG] I have good news for you! The standard is 4 square feet of space for every chicken (not chicks, chickens) and you have 150 square feet and only need 104. [​IMG]

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    I'm going to watch this thread because I'd like to know, too.