1. critterlover

critterlover Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2009
    Connecticut
    I am new to chickens and we are in the process of getting our coop and run built. I have done a lot of research and we are going to make the roost from 2x4's. I know about the height and distance between them, but I have not seen any info indicating what angle/degree is best to build it.

I will be getting Orpingtons, Australorps and Barred Rocks so they will be full figured girls.

Thanks

2. RIVERA69R

RIVERA69R Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2008
    VENICE FL
    You can just build them straight across the roost itself doesnt need to be angled

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Yup, you don't want a roost slanted, it hsould be horizontal. Or are you talking about the angle of a ladder-style roost assembly? That's not necessarily the best design for all situations, but if you *are* using a ladder style, the angle can be pretty much anything you want as long as it permits you to have at least 12" horizontally between roosts (i.e. if you were looking down from the ceiling, they should look 12" or more apart). Otherwise you get chickens pooing on each other [​IMG]

Really though if you have room for just a single roost that will accommodate all the chickens, that can have some real advantages (reduces social friction since chickens are all at same height; allows you to easily use a droppings board to keep coop much cleaner and drier)

Good luck, have fun,

Pat

4. ~*Sweet Cheeks*~

~*Sweet Cheeks*~ Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2009
    Olympia Washington
    I used what I had on hand for their first roost at age 7 wks when I put them in the coop.