1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Roost bar diameter question....

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TwoCrows, May 19, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am new to chickens and have a question about the diameter of the perch/roost. I have 4 Australorp girls. My roost bar is a 1 x 2, with the 2 inch side up. (I measured the 2 inch side and it is indeed 2 inches). I have heard about using 2 x 4 being placed up on it's larger side. But is my 2 inch roost bar enough for them? Will it cause any foot problems or anything of this nature? Thank you for any information you may have....Leyla

Last edited: May 19, 2011
  2. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    I read on here that it is better to do a 2x4 flat side up so they can sit on their tootsies and keep them from freezing in the winter so I used that. Then I thought "Gee wider is better so I put up a shelf." Umm no. They push and fight too much so I put the 2x4 back up....now of course the polish roost on top of the screen door that separates the original pen and the addition...which is a whopping 1/2 inch wide. Now you have to understand that they have a heck of a time hanging in there....and then you have to realize they are polish so they are not REALLY chickens....that do like, normal stuff....
    sharon

3. Sorin

Sorin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Glenfield, ny