Rooster Advice Needed Please

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by CoolClucker, Aug 5, 2013.

1. CoolClucker

CoolClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2013
    Central USA
    Hello. I have just found out that one of my girls isn't a girl but a boy! So I have a rooster, and I'm a bit nervous. He's very sweet now at 7 weeks old, but I've heard Roos can be aggressive and mean. What can I do to raise him right so that he's a mellow, sweet boy when he's grown? I don't want him to be aggressive towards me or my family, but stay friendly. This is my first time raising chickens and they were supposed to be all hens...but I'm not going to give any of them away. I'm way too attached now. :) Thank you!

2. imogene08

imogene08 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2013
    Florida
    well you dont wanna get to attached to a rooster like dont treat him like a hen treat him like a rooster so he will grow up to show respect and not think he can do whatever

3. CoolClucker

CoolClucker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2013
    Central USA
    hmm , what do you mean by that exactly?

4. creepygothnursi

creepygothnursi Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2013
    I think she means not to baby him too much, but let him know that he needs to respect you. Many people want to pet and cuddle roosters and play with them, and it's hard not to want to when they're cute little chicks. Unfortunately, this may lead the rooster to think that he is on the same level as you, or even dominant over you, and that can get dangerous if he decides he needs to put you in your place. I'm not the greatest expert in how to do this, but if you do a search of the forum on something like "how to dominate roosters", many threads will come up. It's super important that the rooster understand that you are in charge, because a violent or mean rooster can severely injure or even kill a small enough child.

5. JackE

JackE Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    North Eastern Md.