Rooster arching his neck.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by BayBay Peepers, Jan 2, 2014.

1. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    I have an eight month old buff orpington rooster that is in a peculiar position. His neck is completely extended and arching. Is this something I should be worrying about and should I be taking immediate action? This is my first year with chickens and I want to make sure I get it right. Any advice would be extremely appreciated.

2. PolkaDot77

PolkaDot77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 26, 2012
    Boise, ID
    Does he open his mouth when he does it? Gape worms can cause chickens to extend their neck and open their mouths. Have you dewormed them at all? You might try that just to see if it goes away. If he seems fine, he might just be yawning or stretching.

3. BayBay Peepers

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    This is probably going to sound terrible, but no I didn't worm them because I didn't think worms would be a threat in winter.

4. BigECarter

BigECarter Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2012
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Vitamin B deficiency? Search for wry neck. I have no experience with it myself but see lots of references to it.

Or maybe he swallowed something that is stuck in his throat? If you have money to spare, you could get an X-ray at a veterinarian clinic.

It does sound like something you should be concerned about.

E

5. BayBay Peepers

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    After lots of reading I fear its wry neck. I think I made a horrible mistake. I still feed veggies and regular feed, but ive also offered extra corn for the winter. I think I overdid it and caused this mess. Not good :(

6. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio