Rooster Bachelor Pad

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by shem, Feb 22, 2014.

1. shem

shem Out Of The Brooder

Feb 22, 2014
    Hello BYC Community! I am in year two of raising hens and can't get enough. We are transforming our shed into a coop which means more space for Chickens! Right now I have only hens. I would like to get a roo to mate with some of our hens. I am wondering if the roo can hold residence full time in our smaller coop and run and we just send the ladies in for periods of time when its time to mate. The ladies will stay in the larger coop and run full time. My thought is this helps to distinguish between fertilized eggs and non fertilized eggs and this will give us the ability to separate the roo and hens if he becomes too much and they need a break. So I guess my questions are as follows:

1) Can a roo live alone?
    2) Can I move hens back and forth between coops/runs?

Like I said I'm new to this so any advice will help me to determine if a roo is a good idea for us at this point. Thanks!

2. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013