Rooster behavior ?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sunnie7, Apr 12, 2017.

1. sunnie7

sunnie7 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2016
    I'm new with having chickens and I started out with 4 chicks in October. I've rehomed 2 Roos and have add two pullets (awhile back). Last weekend I rehomed the 2nd roo and came home and for the first time ever my whole silkie (that I thought was a pullet) started crowing. The last roo I had to rehome because he suddenly became aggressive and started coming at me and was being too hard on one of the girls and pulling all her head feathers out when mating her. My white silkie has always been so sweet and the first to come up to me and eat out of my hand and let me hold. Now all the sudden he's doing the little side step thing towards me when I come around and now today when my 6 year old went to collect eggs as soon as she when in he pecked her legs 5times and made her bleed. I have 3 young kids that love helping me take care of the chickens. I can't have aggressive behavior. What should I do? Is it hormones that's causing all these sudden problems?

2. 0wen

0wen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2016
    Southwest Virginia
    He's the rooster now. Likely he was kept in check by the previous roosters, and now that he's king of the castle he's trying to let everyone know it. I had the same issue when I first started keeping chickens. Dominate Leghorn rooster was rehomed and a Brahma all of a sudden stepped up and worked his way towards a dinner table...

3. Leah567

Leah567 Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Apr 3, 2017
    Texas
    My Coop