rooster can't walk and is trying to isolate himself please help :(

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by briannabear, Jan 19, 2014.

1. briannabear

briannabear New Egg

Jan 19, 2014
    hi, i'm new to byc and the reason i'm joining right now is because my rooster, rush, got into a fight with our other rooster, john rooster. i believe it's because we just introduced some new chicks into the flock and i read somewhere that the pecking order gets screwed up for them so they have to establish a new pecking order. rush was always top rooster (probably not anymore though).

as of this morning, he was totally fine when my dad went and checked on everyone. somewhere between then (probably around 8-10 am) and about three hours ago (3 pm), rush and john rooster went at it. there's blood on the walls, but rush's comb was only a LITTLE bit bloody (john rooster is totally fine). the feathers around his head are a little more bloody and i can see some skin. it's all dry though and i couldn't find any other sources of bleeding.

on to the problem: for the past few hours, rush would sit in the corner of our coop. he wouldn't eat or drink or crow. i brought him to the watering area and also brought him snacks i know he likes and he didn't touch either. i left him alone for a while, because my dad and i just figured it was probably because he got his clock cleaned by john rooster. but i'm a worry-wart and checked on him frequently. he could hardly stand and when he tried to walk, he had to use his wings to balance himself out. i picked him up and checked his feet by pushing on the bottoms of them; he curled his toes just barely and didn't really try to pull them away (i don't know if this is because of how i was holding him or not however), so i'm not sure if his legs got paralyzed somehow or not.