1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

rooster chick seems to be lagging in development

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Victoria-nola, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Victoria-nola

Victoria-nola Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2011
    Southwest Mississippi
    Hi everyone-- This is my first post on this forum. I have now gotten my chicks for the first time ever after 20 years or more of wanting chickens. I have a lot of animal experience but no birds since budgies and finches as a child. I have 4 hens and 1 rooster, they are all supposed to be the Ameracauna breed but two have brown camo/natural coloring and 3 have cream-colored feathers coming in, including the rooster. They will be 4 weeks old on Wednesday. I bought them from a local feed store who ordered them in, from which hatchery I don't know. I also don't know if they were vaccinated for Marek's, is it? I am feeding them starter/grower unmedicated, mealworms, and grass from the backyard. I am giving them special vitamin/mineral/probiotics boosters from McMurray in their water and using the Aqua Miser waterer. I handle them several times a day. The brooder is plenty warm with infrared heater and red light bulb, and it's still quite warm here in New Orleans. The current temp in the warmest end of the brooder is 82 deg F.