Rooster died suddenly

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by EscoChickens, Sep 9, 2016.

1. EscoChickens

EscoChickens New Egg

Sep 9, 2016
    Southern California
    Hi, I am new to Backyard Chickens, although I have used it as a reference many times since we became chicken owners earlier this spring. I had a rooster die in the middle of the night last night. I saw no signs of this coming, but I am hoping to lay out the facts to see if anyone has any opinions as to why and if I should be worried for my other birds.

I have (had) 3 barred rock, 1 rooster, and 2 hens. One of my hens is approx 26 weeks and came from my sons school where they hatch chicks every spring. She was 1 of 4, the others ended up being roosters and went back to the farmer. At that time we brought home 2 new hens but one ended up being a rooster. They are now approx 20 weeks.

The 3 lived together perfectly fine in a 5x9 coop with a 3x5 hen house (modeled after the Wichita cabin coop). They get to free range a few times a week and on weekends anywhere from 2-8 hours at a time. I feed them all Freedom non-GMO poultry starter crumble. I have not moved to layer because they haven't started laying yet. Their food and water hangs so it stays clean, and the coop gets great ventilation.

Wednesday after work the chickens were free ranging in the yard for a few hours in the evening. They all seemed totally normal. Thursday we got home from work late and I did not check on the chickens until after dark. When I closed the door to the hen house I poked my head in and noticed the rooster was not on the roosting bars with the hens but was standing in the corner facing the wall. When I opened the hen house this morning he was lying on his side dead.