rooster for protection

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by shmeggs, Nov 24, 2013.

1. shmeggs

shmeggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2013
    I am still new to keeping chickens. I have rhode island red hens and 2 red sex link hens. my sex links have been attacked when they were free ranging by couple dogs but the rhode island reds have never been hurt. what im wanting to know is if I get me a rooster will he protect the hens from dogs hawks and other predators? im hoping to maybe get a rooster who is friendly with humans but protect his girls.

2. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    Smaller hawks yes, larger hawks sometimes fro cover, Others no. Look into other options for protection.

3. ColonelAstroid

ColonelAstroid Out Of The Brooder

I have a rooster who protects his flock /when danger comes he herds them into the chicken coop, and he's been pretty good.Except when we start picking up the hens. He kinda sorta charges. but if we just don't pick up or handle ( or even touch! ) his favorite hens he lets us pick up the not so favorite ones. PS: he is a barred rock, and I've heard that barred rocks can get very aggressive. So if you do get a rooster, don't get a barred rock. I think we just got lucky to have a nice barred rock rooster!

4. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013