Rooster frustrations !!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Barbara kulig, Dec 13, 2018.

1. Barbara kulig

Barbara kulig Chirping

Dec 13, 2018
    So this is my first year of owning chickens we raised six baby chicks last spring I ended up with two roosters leaving me with four chicken. So of course the obvious happened as the roosters matured they no longer got along and the one really hurt the other one which was my favorite and of course the one that was nasty as my husband favorite, Scotch back to health separated the two roosters gave Generalalso his two girls and Scotch his two girls free range but put General and his girls closed in no more free range. Feel bad but he was nasty and chased me all the time. Scared of the dang thing.
    Generals coop wasn't winterized good enough so I had to put two coops in one shed that I turned into coop. Wire fence separating them no chance of getting at each other but all the sudden now mr. Nasty is attacking one of his girls and she's actually the same breed. as him,silverlaced . It's winter time I don't have anywhere else to put her and it's Christmas time I really don't want to bring her inside I'm trying to find a home farm for him. Yes I eat chicken I love chicken but I cannot eat my own chicken that I raised . I noticed that she has some gashes near face from him so I should probably take her out but can I leave her in with the other rooster and his two hens or will he attack her too?

Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
  2. N F C

N F C is it nap time yet?

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    :welcome

Like the old saying goes...there's no good reason to keep a mean rooster. If he's attacking one of his ladies, he needs to go.

3. Texas Kiki

Texas Kiki Egg Pusher

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

:yesss: We are glad you joined this flock!
    Jump right in and make yourself at home.
    This is a good "rooster" read:
    Beekissed's Rooster Speak