Rooster has been abused ?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by tulsatigger, Dec 17, 2012.

1. tulsatigger

tulsatigger Out Of The Brooder

Dec 16, 2012
    Gray Acres
    I am new here and I am new at the whole raising chickens. I have 10 Rhode Island Reds, 6 Barred Rocks and as of yesterday 4 White Americana's....and I have one beautiful neighboring rooster....The rooster is what I am having major concerns about. He has been coming over from the neighbor for several months, shows up in the mornings and leaves to go back home at dusk....I have really enjoyed him and he is not aggressive at all!
    Well, I guess the neighbors found out and didn't want him coming over any more so we didnt see him for 3 days. Then yesterday he showed back up and I was so upset. He looks like they did something very terrible to him. His beautiful red comb is now black all over, his feathers are a mess and he is not himself. He now will sit off alone and fall asleep! he has no life in him what so ever. Can anyone please tell me what I can do for him. I WILL NOT LET HIM LEAVE! He is going to stay with us. I cannot handle the thought of him (SUNNY) going back to a home that would allow this to happen! If someone could give me some advice, it would be so much appreciated !

2. elsfieldchickens

elsfieldchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

i would keep him

3. dquarles74

dquarles74 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 3, 2012
    Lufkin, Texas
    Maybe you could ask your neighbor what happened to him out of concern. Do they have dogs or some animal that would hurt him? If they don't have a good answer then maybe call SPCA or something?

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas