1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Rooster help!!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by southernhens15, Nov 21, 2015.

1. southernhens15

southernhens15 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 8, 2015
    Louisiana
    I currently have a flock of 8 hens, I've been hesitant on getting a rooster simply because the the crowing and aggression some can have.. (I was attacked by an aggressive rooster when I was younger, but have since met very wonderful roosters.) My question is what is the most docile breed of rooster that you would recommend? I know all roosters crow, but are there any that maybe arent as vocal as others?? Thanks in advance! :)

2. Alexandra33

Alexandra33 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am by no means an expert when it comes to roosters, seeing as the one I have right now is my first, but I would definitely recommend Orpingtons. My "oops" Lavender Orpington boy has turned out to be great so far, and he's 5 months now. Of course, he's going through that insane adolescent stage that the young ones are notorious for, but even at his worst, he's never shown us aggression.
    [​IMG]
    -Alex

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    I've been raising chickens for 50 years and in my experience, generally the most docile standard sized rooster breeds have been Brahmas, Orpingtons, Austalorps, Cochins, Speckled Sussex, and Faverolles. Of course there can always be an exception with any breed. My Silkie roosters have also been very docile but of course they are bantams.

1 person likes this.
  4. southernhens15

Nov 8, 2015
    Louisiana
    I have a buff orpington hen, I love her! She is gorgeous, although she is not very affectionate. But I have also heard orpingtons are pretty docile birds.

5. southernhens15