Rooster or Hen?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by arfdolph12, Apr 7, 2016.

1. arfdolph12

arfdolph12 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2015
    Antioch, California
    I have a 4 month old Barred Rock, which is supposed to be a hen. Unless I'm way off base, I'm starting to think this is a rooster, although he/she has never crowed yet. I let them run around on my 1/4 acre lot and all he/she does a lot of the time is to jump on the other hens' backs and bites their neck while he/she's up there. I really don't know how chickens mate, but this is maybe what I'm seeing. The hens don't like it and some, very angrily, chase her/him away. Other just ruffle their feathers like their trying to just shake off the mess he/she made to her feathers. I don't know if anyone can tell from a photo, so I've included 2 photos--one head-on and the other a profile. This is my first time downloading a photo, so hopefully it comes out right Anyone have any ideas?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    He is definitely a rooster.

3. thegoldengirls

thegoldengirls Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2009
    Central NY
    Rooster

4. TimCline

TimCline Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2016
    Inez, ky
    Is this a serious post? Lol

Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  5. Pyxis

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop

Some people really don't know how to tell a hen from a rooster, especially when they were told they were sold a hen. There's nothing wrong with being new to chickens and not knowing things. We were all new once :)

6. TimCline

TimCline Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2016
    Inez, ky
    I know lol. This just amused me a little. I had a guy once try to sell me a pair out of a cage full of roosters at my local stockyard.

7. arfdolph12

arfdolph12 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2015
    Antioch, California