rooster question and broody questions

okiemamachick

Chirping
5 Years
Jan 11, 2015
Oklahoma
I hope this is the right forum for this lol ok I have a total of 6 hens as of right now and zero roosters every rooster we've had has been ornery and floggy and therefore couldn't stay. I would really like to keep a rooster for breeding purposes, perhaps in his own coop/tractor? is this done? if it is, how would I go about getting my hens bred? put them in one at a time or put him in with them for a certain amount of time? After Im sure the deed is done how long until the eggs are fertile? Do I just stop collecting and see if one goes broody? If none go broody are the eggs ruined or can I incubate them? how long do I have before they are unhatchable? Im not a newbie to chickens ive just never dealt with the breeding aspect of chickens before so this part is fairly foreign to me. any advice would be a great help!

It's usually about 2 or three eggs after the deed is done before they're fertile.
There are sperm storage sites in the vagina. After the next egg passes, some of the sperm is squeezed out and makes its way to the infundibulum where, once present, will fertilize the next ovum released.
A hen may never go broody. You can tell if the eggs are fertile by opening it and looking for the germinal disc. If it is a white spot, it's infertile. If it's a halo, it's fertile.
http://www.extension.org/pages/65971/germinal-disc

Conjugal visits work. It depends on what works best for you.
Once mated a hen will be fertile for about 3 weeks, more or less.

Do you have a breed choice?

I've had lots of roosters and been flogged by a few that tasted just like chicken.

My advice is a breed that is more aloof and doesn't feel comfortable around people.

I raise Black Penedesencas. They're great flock protectors and I've never been flogged by one.