Rooster Shaking then sits

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by loyd63, Mar 4, 2015.

1. loyd63

loyd63 New Egg

Mar 2, 2015
    Arkansas
    Hi All, im new to the forum, have had chickens for 6 months now so im pretty new to this, i've dealt with sick chickens in this time and given shots of Tylan50 and Wazine and DE with success and failure also treated for Egg bound hens with success, Now I have a problem with my Buckeye Rooster which is about a year old, he was bought from a healthy flock and was going to be a show bird until the hens pecked at his tail feathers so i was able to buy him at this time. Hes a beautiful big bird but his problem is as follows; He don't seem to be real fast or active, acts like it hurts him to stand up, acts like an old man with Arthritis, he will start shivering in the legs and then sit down. he even sits down to eat even when he don't shake. I'm fixing to treat for lice with DE but have not seen any lice or mites although some of my hens are loosing feathers on their back by their tails, going completely bald, so im treating them anyway. the weather here has been cold snowy rainy and muddy for a good month so they haven't been free ranging much. Two days ago the Rooster was posturing in a sick manner as i've seen before so i gave him a shot of Tylan50 and a shot of B12, he don't seem to be doing any better, still shakes and sits, I did notice at the sellers house when he got back from his show, (which won a lot of awards) one of this Roosters brothers or maybe his father also had this shaking problem but he wouldn't sit down. My chickens stay out in the rain as their choice so they are wet all the time, Dang this weather.!!! calling for more snow today and tomorrow. Anybody have ideas what this Shaking thing is????

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio