Rooster???

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by wings, Jan 11, 2009.

1. wings

wings Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    Massachusetts
    I have one rooster for our 4 hens (soon to be ten hens). We think he's an Australorp, but who knows? Our problem with him is we need to know wether or not we should keep him. One problem is he crows at five in the morning when we would like to get up at seven. Another is I have heard that he can be hard on the hens. Also, he might be too protective of his girls when I go in the coop. Has anyone experienced this before?
    We might want to keep him because I heard he would help when introducing new members to the flock, but I have no experience on the matter, so I need some help![​IMG]

2. Bec

Bec THE Delaware Blue Hen

Well he will never crow only when you want him too...lol...and neither will any other roo! They all crow when every they want! Mine crow all night long! [​IMG] Luckily I don't mind and neither do my neighbors!
    As far as him being rough on the hens, it all depends on that particular roo. Some are very sweet and gentle, some are rude and rough.
    I have 2 roos. 1 is just as sweet as he could be, the other one is a jerk and flogs any chance he gets. As I said before, it all has to do with that particular rooster. He may turn out to be an excellent roo! Then again, he may be a jerk butt.
    I have no experience with the introduction part...[​IMG]

3. Nemo

Nemo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2008
    N'rn Wisconsin
    Roosters are male birds, and as such, they crow for various reasons... To announce that he owns his territory, to keep his hens together, to warn off anything suspicious, etc. If the coop is too close to the house, it might be an annoyance.