1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Roosters are bullying hens!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by acarter26, Jun 24, 2011.

1. acarter26

acarter26 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2011
    Baldwinsville
    I'm new to raising chickens. My BF and I have 22 chickens, and possibly 8 of them are roosters. We hatched them ourselves and they are 11 weeks old now. The more dominant of them, a barred rock, is bullying our smallest RIR hen, Peanut. We mostly see it in the a.m. when we open the door to the coop to let them out. I noticed today when I let them out that Peanut, who normally goes right out in the morning seemed to stay inside the coop. I coaxed her out and as soon as she got outside, the rock went right for her. He has bit her before but I stopped him today before he could do anything to her. What should we do? Other roosters have picked on her before but not as consistantly as the rock. Also, is it possible that they could be trying to mate because i have seen them do this to other hens as well?

2. kemclaughlin

kemclaughlin Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011
    Garden City, ID
    Quote:I asked this same question this morning about my 14 week old EE. He was chasing one of the girls and trying to grab the feathers at the base of her neck. I was assured that he could be trying to mate.

3. acarter26

acarter26 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2011
    Baldwinsville
    Thanks for the reply. Hopefully thats the case.

4. mrsp523

mrsp523 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    Western Mass