Liz Birdlover

Crossing the Road
Premium Feather Member
6 Years
Jan 6, 2018
Delaware, USA
Please give me your feedback about your experiences with those beautiful, protective and zany Roosters - having more than 1, adding more, what you've done and how you've managed.

Although I've had experience with various birds, I'm fairly new to the Chicken World. I love my Roos dearly, they have such unique personalities. I also know that Roosters can fight viciously, and I really prefer NOT to see that in person, especially in my own flock. I've read many ways to blend a hen flock, but most people say don't try to introduce an extra Roo.

What I've got...1 big, aggressive Barred Rock Roo & Hen both 3 yrs old.
What I just recently got...A group of sweet Ameraucanas 2 very young Roos, which I've had to separate already due to comb pecking each other, and a group of 9 Hens.

So as of right now, I have 3 groups, due to small accomodations over winter, which I will change once the weather improves, to a 12x24 coop. The coop I started with...well, it'll be the "Nursery Coop" for when I put a pair I want to breed in there.

So the new 12x24 coop will be worked on as soon as weather improves.
I'm thinking I'll need 3 sections in that coop, to give each Roo and his little harem their own space.
I guess I'll need 3 safe pens, and 3 mobile tractors, too...so that's no issue, I can build stuff.
I'd really love to let them have free range time together, though, on about 2 acres of grazing, while I am home gardening so I can break up any squabbles. Will I be breaking up squabbles more than gardening?

I just wonder, can I try to have them all together without worrying they'll have a serious fight?
If they're cramped in a small space they'll fight, but if given a large area, will they just establish a pecking order and then leave each other alone, or will they injure or try to kill each other?

Sorry to be long winded...trying to give you as much info as I can.
Thanks!