Roosters flogging people! Im new at this, please help!

Luvroos

Songster
9 Years
Sep 12, 2010
Fredericksburg
I own 5 standards that I surely to god dont want to part with. I allow them all to free range. Well Corporal floggered my ole auntie this afternoon. After he and I had discussed this he went on about his business and knew that I were extremely upset with him after telling him what a bad boy he were. Again I am new with chickens and would prefer not to kill, mutilate, destroy nor any above him in any way but I cannot allow this type of behavior for any reason. By the way my roos are turning 5 months old this month. He has reacted kind of strange with me also but I turn and give him that daring look and he normally walks away. Any training methods would be great, these boys of mine are getting huge, god forbid, Im shocked, theyre beautiful. I must mention that most of my training techniques for them have worked out so far while we have disagreements quite often until I bring out those treats ie: raisins. I can take it if you tell me that he needs to go because he might never stop but let me down easy, lol. With all do respect Im looking forward to your inputs as I sure could use them.

There are a lot of threads about this issue...several in the last few days in fact. Some people think you can re-train them to behave....others like me think a roo that will jump you is only good for the stew pot. There are too many good roos out there to put up with a nasty one.

Quote:
I'm in the middle, because I cannot eat or kill a chicken.

If it's a good, purebred, proven breeder I will try to rehome it with FULL disclosure. If not? Well then, cook it or keep him locked up.