Rooster's going to sue me for malpractice- HELP ME w/ bumblefoot surg!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ND, Aug 18, 2010.

1. ND

ND Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    Complete newbie to chickens...

I have a year old light brahma rooster that I got about a month or so ago...and after doing some reading, realized he had bumblefoot on both feet. He has a large-ish (big marble size) lump on the bottom of both feet, both with black spots/scabs maybe nickle sized. He wasn't limping, but they looked bad...and after reading the tutorial, I figure 'Hey, I've Dr'd horses and all kinds of stuff, so how hard can THIS be?' I'm an idiot... lol

So I peeled/cut off the scabs (after soaking) and and dug and prodded and squeezed and massaged.... rinse and repeat for AWHILE NOW...and now I have big marble sized lumps with bloody spots, but can't really find any plug or cheesy material really. One foot had some thin white stringy stuff I tried to work out... one foot did squeeze out a VERY small dab of a harder cheezy material, followed by the thin white stringy stuff....but really, all I have now is fleshy bloody spots on the lumps... nothing that looks like the bumblefoot surgery pictures I found on here. [​IMG]

Am I not digging enough? Cutting enough? Is there not a plug? WHAT do I do now?
    Currently, the rooster is sitting in a very warm epsom salt soak in my bathtub... he's contemplating a malpractice suit, I'm sure...and really hates me now.
    After a good soak, I'm going to poke around some more... but then, I'm calling it quits, wrapping the feet up with neosporin, and letting my attorney know I'll be needing his services soon...

HELP!????

One of the brahma hens has a spot on her foot, too...but I don't need two plaintiffs....

2. lavandula girl

lavandula girl Chillin' With My Peeps