roosting boxes in new coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by aldarita, Jan 14, 2013.

1. aldarita

aldarita Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2012
    Brenham TX
    We are building a new coop (10 x12f) for my 9 chicks that are coming this Spring. We are considering locating the roosting boxes in the center, this way it will be easier to clean since we are planning to use sweet PDZ in the box and scoop the poop everyday, so by placing them in the center of the coop, it will be easier for the clean up.I have read in BYC that chickens feel safer when they roost by a wall. I wonder if any of you has any experience in placing the roosting boxes in the center of the coop rather than by a wall.I am interested in your opinions since I am a newbie and just learning as it goes. I can easily change our design since the most important thing is the well being of my chicks.

2. JackE

JackE Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    North Eastern Md.
    Heard about NEST boxes, but not roost boxes. I have my roost bars, 3 of them, spanning the width of the of the coop. My chickens hang out on all three. You want to make the coop easy to clean, just make your roost bars removable. See what I have below.
    Jack

[​IMG]

3. aldarita

Aug 2, 2012
    Brenham TX
    Thanks Jack, I see your roosts are at the same level which is good (for what I have read) helps with less fighting at roosting time. Great idea!

4. JackE

JackE Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    North Eastern Md.
    I've heard that said, about roost bars on the same level and fighting, but nobody told my birds about it. You ought to hear the squalking and thumping around that goes on in there every night. I can only imagine if I had ladder roosts in there.
    Jack

5. debid

debid Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2011
    middle TN