Roosting question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sanchabird, Mar 8, 2014.

1. sanchabird

sanchabird Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2014
    North Georgia
    I am very new to keeping ducks so I am sorry for all of the questions. I am planning on getting 3 females in about a month. I have 4 chickens right now but I have had more in the past so I am familiar with chickens but not so much with ducks. Do ducks roost like chickens or do they sleep on the floor? How old do they have to be to swim in a kiddie pool? Can their beaks eat out of a chicken feeder when they are grown? Thanks in advance!

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Mallard-derived ducks do not roost like chickens, but Muscovies do roost, I am told.

It's best for them to be fully feathered before they swim in a kiddie pool. They can have bath time (no soap, just water) fairly young -most agree that by two weeks it should be fine, though some begin earlier. Bath time for ducklings requires close attention, water only up to the tops of their legs, a warm temperature (based on age of duckling), and a brief time - maybe only 5 minutes. After bath time, they need to be replaced in a warm, dry brooder and possibly dried off with a washcloth.

I feed mine with dog bowls.

1 person likes this.
  3. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Muscovy ducks are the only domestic ducks that will roost. The mallard derived breeds are non roosting. Young ducklings readily become waterlogged and chill easily. Once they are feathered they can be allowed monitored swim time - they then will start grooming and lubricating themselves. In my experience ducks do better eating out of bowls or pans rather than most chicken feeders. Enjoy your ducklings - they can be very entertaining.

1 person likes this.
  4. sanchabird

Mar 7, 2014
    North Georgia
    The ducks I am getting are pekins so I am guessing they don't roost.