Rotating Roos?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by gpac, Nov 30, 2010.

1. gpac

gpac Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2010
    Maui
    I currently have 10 Hens to my 1 RIR Rooster. They pretty much are out in the yard/run all day long. I was hoping to get one or maybe two more Buff Orpington Roosters to some day breed with my Buff Orp Hens. My question is that would it be okay to rotate the new Rooster(s) with the Hens. I would alternate days that each rooster would be out with the hens or be cooped up for the day. My thinking is that since there would be only one Rooster out with the Hens every day that the Hens would be fine. (Ratio wise). My concern would be for the Rooster cooped up that particular day, and how will it affect him?[​IMG]

2. KooKoe

KooKoe Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2010
    I'm no expert here, and a bit of a girl, so bear that in mind.......

My chickens would have HUGE issues with that! The hens are particularly fond of their roo. I have two flocks. one caged and one free ranging. I have from time to time tried to 'rotate' my hens and honestly, my hens will have NOTHING to do with my new roo. They simply throw him off or even fight with him! It took about 2 weeks of constant exposure to the new roo, for my girl to finally accept him. now she is hostile towards the old roo. Maybe it has to do with the breed, but in my personal opinion, I don't think it can work on a 'day to day' basis.

I think if you want breeding with the new roo, you will have to put the hens in the coop with him for several weeks, until breeding is over. and even then, once the chicks are there (If the mother will be raising them), she should remain with the roo until the chicks can fend for themselves, because if you put her back with the old roo, the old roo could attack the chicks.

hopefully someone else could pipe up here. Like I said, I'm not expert.

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon