RSL Very Lethargic! Help!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Bleenie, Sep 11, 2011.

1. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

My 5.5 mo old(i believe) RSL pullet is acting very ill today. She hasn't eaten to drank at all, was wobbling around earlier and "vomitted" when i picked her up earlier. She has a HORRIBLE smell coming from her mouth but her crop feels empty??

And ideas what could be wrong? She was fine yesterday [​IMG]

She's laying in a basket next to me right now, but her mouth keeps hanging open and she makes a sort of 'gasping' motion quite often.

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am no expert, but if there is a bad smell coming from her beak, then it sounds like sour crop, especially that she vomited when you picked her up. I am dealing with a pullet that does have sour crop...vomiting, sour smell coming from beak, although her crop is extremely swollen.

I tried everything to cure her...yogurt, olive oil, vomiting her myself, even using a fungal cream. (sour crop is a fungal infection). However she got so sick I took her to the vet and had her crop flushed and was sent home with Nystatin to treat it. This was 2 days ago and she is still not well.

I would start in with the yogurt to try to combat the infection. If her crop really starts to get swollen and won't go down, than I would say she indeed does have a sour crop. I hope she heals up soon.

Last edited: Sep 11, 2011
  3. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

I actually got 5cc of yogurt/olive oil mix down her throat and massaged her crop for a little bit(just in case). I could feel some stuff starting to roll around in there so i decided to go ahead and try to work it back up. It ended up being a lot of 1 certain type of grain from their treat mix... like she ate ONLY that when i gave it to them last time and it swelled up a little and blocked everything up.