rubbery meat

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by rhodeislandredraiser, Aug 8, 2009.

1. rhodeislandredraiser

rhodeislandredraiser In the Brooder

Aug 7, 2009
    This is my first year raising reds. Last weekend i killed and processed two of the roos. I invited my family over on thursday for a home cooked chicken dinner. It was a disaster! The meat was so rubbery my 6yr old grand daughter chocked on it. That was absolutely terrifying. Not to mention she was the most excited about eatting the birds. She has helped with the birds since they were chicks and is one of the few family members who understand the process of raising them for food. The reds were about 18 weeks old. A big problem that i have is, I have 14 more roos. Why are they so rubbery and what can i do.

2. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Songster

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    How long had they been "resting" before you cooked them? And how did you cook them? All birds need to rest a few hours to a few days for the meat to relax from rigor, and when cooking older birds, it is usually necessary to slow cook using a liquid of sorts. You could brine them ( I never have, but) you could also marinade them for a long period of time (24 hrs), or you could cook them in a soup or stew. Crock pots are your friend too with older birds. don't let this discourage you from enjoying your other birds. They can turn out quite delicious.

3. WalkingWolf

WalkingWolf Songster

Jan 1, 2009
    North Carolina
    Did you cull and then cook, all meat(except fish) needs to go through rigor before preparation. And then you have to take cooking method and time into account. Free range critters should be treated the same as wild game when preparing a meal. I would at least let the chicken sit wrapped or bagged in the fridge 24 hours or more. If you are looking for that store flavor and tenderness then I suggest you brine the chicken also.