Run design for ducks & chickens

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by nachoqtpie, Apr 9, 2012.

1. nachoqtpie

nachoqtpie Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2011
    Jacksonville, NC
    So, I'm new to fowl. I did have a duck once... but... it was an indoor duck. (Don't ask... LOL)

We have 4 ducklings now. 2 Rouen and 2 Pekin. We are planning on getting 6-8 Easter Eggers in a couple of months. We are getting ready to build our coop & run(s) now. But I'm running into some questions that I don't know the answer to.

When we get our chicks, the ducks will be a couple months old, meaning they will be about 4 months old when we get the chicks into the coop/run. Should we build separate runs for the ducks and the chickens or could/should we house them together? We're planning on either 2 8x12' runs or 1 8x24' run depending. I'm planning on using a stock tank with a "deck" outside and a "stoop" on the inside. If we keep them in the same enclosure, should I go with a longer shallow stock tank with multiple water sources for the chickens?

Thanks for all the info guys! I'm looking forward to hearing everybodys input and suggestions!

2. FireTigeris

FireTigeris Tyger! Tyger! burning bright

3. nachoqtpie

Apr 30, 2011
    Jacksonville, NC
    Well, I was thinking of using a kiddie pool, but I was going to use the water from the tank to use in my garden. The area that we're going to put the coop in is fenced and the gate is on the other side of the fence from where the garden is. So, instead of trying to bale buckets of water out of kiddie pools to the garden, or simply making the grass around the run nice and green,I figured I could use a hose on the spout and just water from that once or twice a week.

Are you suggesting I don't use the stock tank? Or would it be okay?